Incorporating Wild Billy Childish and members of CTMF – The William Loveday Intention: THEY WANTED THE DEVIL BUT I SANG OF GOD Vinyl LP

  • Layout 1
  • Layout 1
  • DevilA
  • DevilB
  • IMG_5696
  • IMG_5697
  • Print
  • The Wanted the Devil song book Ltd Ed cover4web
  • The Wanted the Devil song book cover4web


‘A CAREER IN A YEAR’ – 13 LPs have been recorded by the William Loveday Intention in the last year.

This is the first of FOUR LPs and TWO 7″ 45 vinyl records to be released on Hangman Records via L-13 this year. The other titles will appear on Damaged Goods  and other labels before the year is out.

Available in two editions

PRE-RELEASE Test Pressing Edition: Only 25 copies with makeshift photocopy covers on Kraft card sleeves and hand stamped labels, signed by Billy Childish with his hangman symbol. Comes with a hand stamped cover Ltd Edition William Loveday Intention songbook with all the lyrics. SOLD OUT

Standard Edition:  First pressing of 500 copies in black vinyl and printed sleeve. Comes with a William Loveday Intention songbook with all the lyrics. Release Date: End of October 2021 UPDATE: DECEMBER 2021 – we still hope to get this and dispatch it before Christmas* Now in stock.

*The vinyl industry has been brought to its knees this year. Part supply and labour problems due to the pandemic, part Brexit, but mostly the new craze for vinyl has led the majors to re-release anything and everything in this format. After years of running it into the ground they are now making it difficult for small labels and artists like Billy to do their job properly.

Both editions come with a FREE William Loveday Intention button badge: 1.25″ with traditional collet pin fixing. Sold Out

Here The William Loveday Intention perform 12 brand new tunes recorded for the enjoyment of the home listener (or car radio if your local disc jockey is hip to the beat)
(sleeve notes by Jack Ketch)

Face A
1. they wanted the devil but i sang of god
2. all the worldly goods that intoxicate me
3. too many things that mean too much to me
4. sex and flys
5. truth don’t matter to her no more
6. they wanted the devil (reprise)

Face B
7. cave
8. oh father – who art in hell
9. shes in disguise
10. the vipers tongue
11. cave (slight return)
12. the rope puller


SKU: WLITWTD-1 Categories: ,

Additional information

LP Edition

PRE-RELEASE Test Pressing Edition, Standard Black Vinyl Pre-Order